Understanding the Stages of Grief and the Vital Role of Support(Room)

In life, we all encounter moments of loss, and the subsequent journey through grief is a unique and challenging experience. The stages of grief, as initially introduced by Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, provide a framework to understand the emotional rollercoaster that accompanies loss.

At SupportRoom, we recognize the importance of having someone to talk to during these trying times, and the value that licensed therapists bring to these crucial conversations.

The Stages of Grief

  1. Denial

The initial shock of loss often leads to a state of denial, where the mind attempts to protect itself from the overwhelming reality. This stage is a defense mechanism that helps individuals process the loss gradually.

  1. Anger

As the denial subsides, raw emotions surface, and anger may take center stage. It’s crucial to acknowledge and express this anger constructively, and having a supportive person to talk to can provide an outlet for these intense feelings.

  1. Bargaining

In an attempt to regain control or make sense of the situation, individuals may find themselves bargaining with a higher power or seeking ways to reverse or mitigate the loss.

  1. Depression

Reality sets in during the depression stage, bringing overwhelming sadness and a deep sense of loss. Having a compassionate listener can be invaluable at this stage, offering comfort and understanding.

  1. Acceptance

In time, acceptance may emerge, allowing individuals to come to terms with the new reality. It’s important to note that acceptance doesn’t necessarily mean forgetting or moving on; rather, it signifies finding a way to live with the loss.

The Importance of Having Someone to Talk To

Validation of Feelings

Sharing your thoughts and emotions with someone who listens without judgment provides validation. This acknowledgment of your feelings can be a crucial step in the healing process.

Emotional Release

Verbalizing emotions helps release pent-up feelings. A supportive conversation allows individuals to express their grief openly, promoting emotional release and reducing the burden of carrying the pain alone.

Gaining Perspective

Licensed therapists bring a wealth of expertise to these conversations, offering insights and coping mechanisms tailored to an individual’s unique situation. They guide the journey toward healing and help individuals navigate the complexities of grief.

The Value of talking to a Therapist

Expert Guidance

Licensed therapists possess the training and knowledge to navigate the complexities of grief. Their expertise allows them to provide informed guidance and support tailored to each individual’s needs.

 Confidentiality and a Safe Space

Therapy sessions create a confidential and safe environment where individuals can openly discuss their feelings. This secure space fosters trust and encourages open communication.

Customized Support

Every individual’s grief journey is unique. Licensed therapists employ personalized approaches to address specific needs, ensuring a supportive and effective therapeutic experience.

In conclusion, the stages of grief are an integral part of the human experience, and having someone to talk to can significantly impact the healing process. At SupportRoom, our licensed therapists are dedicated to providing compassionate support, guiding individuals through the stages of grief, and helping them emerge stronger on the other side.

Reach out – this is not a journey to be navigated alone.

Connect with SupportRoom to find out how you can better support your team!


Gain FREE access to Heartbeat

Get a free Heartbeat Survey.

Let us uncover the true state of your team’s wellbeing with a free mental health survey for your entire organisation.

Gain valuable insights to see how you can better support your team’s mental health and performance.

Get Started For FREE

No pitch. No credit card required.

Download Our Whitepapers

Expore All Whitepapers